The Wyatt Law Office represents those accused of violent crimes. The charges range from misdemeanor simple assault to charges of terroristic murder by weapons of mass destruction (i.e., the Oklahoma City Bombing). We have represented dozens charged with virtually any violent crime under the State and federal criminal codes. If you are charged with a violent crime, you will need counsel. Our lawyers are familiar with the law, the defenses to these crimes, and with the criminal justice system. Whether you are guilty and need to negotiate a plea or you simply want a jury trial (whether innocent or guilty), we will defend you. Your future is our business.

SHAKEN BABY CASES

Shaken baby syndrome — also known as abusive head trauma, shaken impact syndrome, inflicted head injury or whiplash shake syndrome — is a serious brain injury resulting from forcefully shaking an infant or toddler. Shaken baby syndrome destroys a child’s brain cells and prevents his or her brain from getting enough oxygen. Shaken baby syndrome is a form of child abuse that can result in permanent brain damage or death.Shaken baby syndrome is a form of child abuse punishable by up to life in prison. If convicted and sentenced, then the client will be required to serve 85% of the sentence.

MIS-DIAGNOSIS

Very often parents or caregivers are wrongfully charged with shaken baby allegations because of an incorrect diagnosis or because a doctor or medical provider sees some evidence “consistent with” shaken babies.  For example if your child falls and suffers from a subdural hematoma (bleeding under the scalp) and the child has multiple bruises from falling while learning to walk, a medical provider may report you for suspicion of committing a crime. Doctors and other medical providers or educators are required by law to report suspected child abuse; therefore, they will err on the side of caution and report often BEFORE asking questions.  There is often a logical explanation if given an opportunity to explain.  If accused by a medical provider, call legal counsel.  Let us explain your position.

EXPERIENCE COUNTS

Bob Wyatt has represented several clients in matters alleging “shaken baby” syndrome or serious child abuse with injuries. These cases involve unique factual, medical and legal issues. I have networked with some of the country’s finest medical experts on shaken baby syndrome and shaken impact syndrome. You need experience when taking on the State, DHS and some of the State’s best medical expert witnesses.

CHILD ABUSE

Child abuse, child neglect, child sexual abuse, child sexual exploitation and enabling are felony offenses. Child abuse is punishable by up to life in prison and requires 85% of the sentence to be served before being eligible for parole.

WILLFUL CHILD ABUSE

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in child abuse shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “child abuse” means the willful or malicious abuse, as defined by paragraph 2 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another, or the act of willfully or maliciously injuring, torturing or maiming a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another.

ENABLING OR ALLOWING CHILD ABUSE

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child abuse shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “enabling child abuse” means the causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child abuse, as defined by paragraph 2 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another. As used in this subsection, “permit” means to authorize or allow for the care of a child by an individual when the person authorizing or allowing such care knows or reasonably should know that the child will be placed at risk of abuse as proscribed by this subsection.

WILLFUL CHILD NEGLECT

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in child neglect shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “child neglect” means the willful or malicious neglect, as defined by paragraph 46 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another.

ENABLING CHILD NEGLECT

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child neglect shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “enabling child neglect” means the causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child neglect, as defined by paragraph 46 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another. As used in this subsection, “permit” means to authorize or allow for the care of a child by an individual when the person authorizing or allowing such care knows or reasonably should know that the child will be placed at risk of neglect as proscribed by this subsection.

CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in child sexual abuse shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment, except as provided in Section 51.1a of this title or as otherwise provided in subsection F of this section for a child victim under twelve (12) years of age. Except for persons sentenced to life or life without parole, any person sentenced to imprisonment for two (2) years or more for a violation of this subsection shall be required to serve a term of post-imprisonment supervision pursuant to subparagraph f of paragraph 1 of subsection A of Section 991a of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes under conditions determined by the Department of Corrections. The jury shall be advised that the mandatory post-imprisonment supervision shall be in addition to the actual imprisonment. As used in this section, “child sexual abuse” means the willful or malicious sexual abuse, as defined by subparagraph b of paragraph 2 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another.

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in sexual abuse to a child under twelve (12) years of age shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not less than twenty-five (25) years nor more than life imprisonment, and by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00).

ENABLING CHILD SEX ABUSE

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child sexual abuse shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “enabling child sexual abuse” means the causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child sexual abuse, as defined by subparagraph b of paragraph 2 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under the age of eighteen (18) by another. As used in this subsection, “permit” means to authorize or allow for the care of a child by an individual when the person authorizing or allowing such care knows or reasonably should know that the child will be placed at risk of sexual abuse as proscribed by this subsection.

CHILD SEXUAL EXPLOITATION

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in child sexual exploitation shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment except as provided in subsection I of this section for a child victim under twelve (12) years of age. Except for persons sentenced to life or life without parole, any person sentenced to imprisonment for two (2) years or more for a violation of this subsection shall be required to serve a term of post-imprisonment supervision pursuant to subparagraph f of paragraph 1 of subsection A of Section 991a of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes under conditions determined by the Department of Corrections. The jury shall be advised that the mandatory post-imprisonment supervision shall be in addition to the actual imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “child sexual exploitation” means the willful or malicious sexual exploitation, as defined by subparagraph c of paragraph 2 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another.

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in sexual exploitation of a child under twelve (12) years of age shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not less than twenty-five (25) years nor more than life imprisonment, and by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00).

ENABLING CHILD SEXUAL EXPLOITATION

Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child sexual exploitation shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “enabling child sexual exploitation” means the causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child sexual exploitation, as defined by subparagraph c of paragraph 2 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another. As used in this subsection, “permit” means to authorize or allow for the care of a child by an individual when the person authorizing or allowing such care knows or reasonably should know that the child will be placed at risk of sexual exploitation as proscribed by this subsection.

FORCIBLE SODOMY OF A CHILD

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any parent or other person convicted of forcible anal or oral sodomy, rape, rape by instrumentation, or lewd molestation of a child under fourteen (14) years of age subsequent to a previous conviction for any offense of forcible anal or oral sodomy, rape, rape by instrumentation, or lewd molestation of a child under fourteen (14) years of age shall be punished by death or by imprisonment for life without parole.

 

EXPERIENCED LAWYERS

Call the Wyatt Law Office at 405.234.5500 for your Oklahoma Shaken Baby Lawyers & Attorneys or your  Oklahoma Child Abuse Lawyers and Attorneys.  We will defend you in the criminal courts.  Your future is our business.