Rape & Rape by Instrumentation Defense
Oklahoma Rape Defense Attorneys
The Wyatt Law Office represents those accused of violent sex crimes like rape and rape by instrumentation. If you are charged with a serious sex crime, you will need counsel. Our lawyers are familiar with the law, the defenses to these crimes, and with issues unique to sex offender registration. Whether you want a jury trial (when innocent or guilty) or are guilty and need to negotiate a plea, we will defend you. Your future is our business.
Rape is essentially either forced or non-consensual sex or sex with a minor under age 16. By legal definition, rape would include sexual intercourse with: (a) someone who is under age 16; (b) with someone who is mentally incapable of giving legal consent; (c) when force or violence is used or threatened in conjunction with apparent power over the victim; (d) with someone intoxicated as a means to force them into submission; or (e) with someone who is known to be unconscious.
There are two degrees of rape. Rape in the first degree occurs when: (a) committed by someone over age 18 upon someone under age 14; (b) committed upon someone mentally unsound to give legal consent; (c) committed against someone intoxicated as a means to force them into submission; (d) committed against someone who is known to be unconscious; (e) committed against someone by force or violence, or the threat of force or violence in conjunction with apparent power over the person; or (f) rape by instrumentation that results in bodily harm; (g) rape by instrumentation upon someone under age 14.
First degree rape is punishable by 5 years to life in prison. Life can be with or without parole. To be parole eligible after a conviction for Rape I, the inmate must serve 85% of the sentence.
All other types of rape or rape by instrumentation (if the victim is over 14 years old) are rape in the second degree. Rape by instrumentation would include using fingers or any inanimate object (bottle, gun, toy, vibrator, etc) to penetrate the anus or vagina. Second degree rape is punishable by 1 to 15 years in prison.
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION
If convicted of any degree of rape, sex offender registration is required probably for 25 years or life.
Call the Wyatt Law Office at 405.234.5500 for experienced Oklahoma Rape Defense. Your future is our business.
*Note: Results may vary because each case must be decided on its own unique facts and the law applicable to that given case. You should not infer the likelihood of success on a given case based on past cases handled by this firm.