Obviously child sex abuse charges are something that the state of Oklahoma doesn’t take lightly. And just like the State, we take the defense of this equally as serious. Not everyone facing these charges is actually guilty. The consequences and outcomes are incredibly life changing. Not just the potential jail time is at stake, but you must also worry about what it can do to your reputation.
The first thing is to observe the statute of limitations. After a certain amount of time the details of a case can become cloudy. Second, there are requirements that must be met. If even one of them is not, a conviction can not happen.
There are also frequent false claims of child sex abuse charges. We see this a lot in family court. One side may accuse the other of this in an attempt to gain favor with the judge.
It is against the law in Oklahoma for anyone taking care of a child to have sexual conduct with that child. This is sexual exploitation and is punishable by a $5,000 fine and a year in jail. If the child is under 12, the punishment is up to 25 years in prison.
Oklahoma law also prohibits engaging in sexual conduct with anyone under 16. This punishable by up to 20 years in prison and even longer if the child is under the age of twelve. Possession of child pornography and trafficking children for sexual activity is also a felony that carries a long term sentence. These child sex abuse offenses have stern punishments.
If you or a loved one are facing child sex abuse charges in the State of Oklahoma, call the Wyatt Law Office today. Our expert staff is standing by to help you through your case.