Driving Under The Influence In Oklahoma

Driving Under The Influence In Oklahoma

  • June 5, 2019

Driving under the influence in Oklahoma comes with serious consequences. You may have to pay heavy fines or to spend time in jail. If officers pulled you over for a DUI or a DWI, it pays to have a criminal defense lawyer on your side.

Is it DUI or DWI?

It all comes down to your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC. The amount of alcohol in your blood determines whether you have a DUI or a DWI. Though in some states, these two charges can often be the same thing. Also, there are many substances that are intoxicating. Being charges with DUI doesn’t always mean alcohol was involved. Many prescription and street drugs can also result in DUI charges.

  • If you have a BAC under 0.08, it’s considered driving while intoxicated.
  • If your BAC is over 0.08, officers will charge you with a DUI.

Penalties for DUI and DWI

The penalties for driving under the influence vary but can include everything from jail time to license suspension. DUI can also become a very expensive matter to handle. Not only will you have attorney fees, but also court costs, bail bond premiums, towing fees, the list goes on. The penalties get worse on second or more offenses, such as:

  • Jail time for up to 10 years
  • Fines up to $5,000 or more
  • Mandatory ignition interlock devices
  • Suspended license for three years

Wyatt Law: Your Criminal Defense Lawyer

Whether you were driving under the influence in Oklahoma or charged with DWI, Wyatt Law can help with your case. Wyatt law has helped represent countless defendants on DUI cases in Oklahoma. Our criminal defense attorneys will do everything they can to help you move your life forward after being charged with DUI. Contact us to set up a consultation and to get professional representation.