The Wyatt Law Office represents those accused of arson, which the Legislature defines as a violent crimes.  Arson may be charged as Arson in the First Degree through Arson in the Fourth Degree.  We have represented clients charged with  or investigated for arson.  If you are charged with a violent crime, you will need counsel. Our lawyers are familiar with the law, the defenses to these crimes, and with the criminal justice system. Whether you are guilty and need to negotiate a plea or you simply want a jury trial (whether innocent or guilty), we will defend you. Your future is our business.

ARSON, FIRST DEGREE

Any person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns, or by the use of any explosive device, accelerant, ignition device, heat-producing device or substance, destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any building or structure or contents thereof, inhabited or occupied by one or more persons, whether the property of that person or another, or who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns, or by the use of any explosive device, accelerant, ignition device, heat-producing device or substance causes a person to be burned, or aids, counsels or procures the burning of a person shall, upon conviction, be guilty of arson in the first degree, which is a felony, and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00), or by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than thirty-five (35) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

Any person who, while manufacturing, attempting to manufacture or endeavoring to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance in violation of subsection G of Section 2-401 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes, destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any building or contents thereof, inhabited or occupied by one or more persons whether the property of that person or another, or who while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance in violation of subsection G of Section 2-401 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes causes a person to be burned, or aids, counsels or procures the burning of a person shall, upon conviction, be guilty of arson in the first degree, which is a felony, and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) and by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than thirty-five (35) years.

For First Degree Arson, the inmate must serve 85% of the sentence to be eligible for parole.


ARSON, SECOND DEGREE

Any person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns or by the use of any explosive device or substance or while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance in violation of subsection G of Section 2-401 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any uninhabited or unoccupied building or structure or contents thereof, whether the property of himself or another, shall be guilty of arson in the second degree, which is a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty Thousand Dollars ($20,000.00) or be confined in the State Penitentiary for not more than twenty-five (25) years or both.


ARSON, THIRD DEGREE

Any person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns or by the use of any explosive device or substance destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning of any property whatsoever, including automobiles, trucks, trailers, motorcycles, boats, standing farm crops, pasture lands, forest lands, or any other property not herein specifically named, such property being worth not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00), whether the property of himself or another, shall be guilty of arson in the third degree, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) or be confined in the State Penitentiary for not more than fifteen (15) years.

Any person who willfully and maliciously, and with intent to injure or defraud the insurer, sets fire to or burns or by use of any explosive device or substance destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels, or procures the burning or destruction of any building, property, or other chattels, whether the property of himself or another, which shall at the time be insured against loss or damage by fire or explosion, shall be guilty of arson in the third degree, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00), or be confined in the State Penitentiary for not more than fifteen (15) years or both.

Arson in the third degree is a felony.


ARSON, FOURTH DEGREE

Any person who willfully and maliciously attempts to set fire to or burn or attempts by use of any explosive device or substance to destroy in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or attempts to counsel or procure the burning or destruction of any building or property mentioned in Sections 1401, 1402 or 1403 of this title shall be guilty of arson in the fourth degree, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) or be confined in the State Penitentiary for not more than ten (10) years or both.

The placing or distributing of any flammable, explosive or combustible material or substance or any device in any building or property mentioned in Sections 1401, 1402 or 1403 of this title, in an arrangement or preparation with intent to eventually willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn or to procure the setting fire to or burning of same, shall for the purposes of this section constitute an attempt to burn such building or property, and shall be guilty of arson in the fourth degree, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or be confined in the State Penitentiary for not more than ten (10) years, or both.

Arson in the fourth degree is a felony.


EXPERIENCED LAWYERS

Call the Wyatt Law Office at 405.234.5500 for your Oklahoma Arson Lawyers and Attorneys to defend you.